New Hampshire becomes sixth state to legalize gay marriage

Gay marriage is now legal in Vermont, Maine, New Hampshire, Connecticut, and Massachusetts — all of the new England states, except for Rhode Island. Gay marriage is also legal in Iowa.

Shortly after 4 p.m., the House had voted 198-176 for the bill. The bill had been passed earlier in the day by the Senate.

Lynch said in mid-May that he would sign a bill legalizing same-sex unions as long as the Legislature made it clearer that religious groups would not be forced to conduct “marriage ceremonies that violate their fundamental religious beliefs.”