Prime Minister Boris Johnson has suffered a major defeat after members of Parliament voted to take control of Parliament in order to pass a new law which could force him to delay Brexit and avoid a no-deal exit.

Conservative rebels joined with opposition MPs in order to back a motion that will allow them to take control of the parliamentary agenda on Wednesday, and the opportunity to pass a new law which could force the prime minister to seek a three month delay to Brexit.

Johnson was defeated by 328 votes to 301.

The defeat came despite threats from the prime minister to expel Conservative MPs who backed the motion. Several Conservative MPs announced their decision on Tuesday to stand down at the next election, while one former minister, Philip Lee, dramatically crossed the floor to join the Liberal Democrats.