The honorees at the Dec. 3 ceremony are Carmen de Lavallade, Gloria Estefan, LL COOL J, Norman Lear, Lionel Richie. The White House said in a statement the first couple would not attend in order to “allow the honorees to celebrate without any political distraction.”

This comes after members of a presidential arts commission quit to protest Trump in the wake of his Charlottesville remarks.