The paper said three of five members had objections during the early phases of the process, but were persuaded in favor of Obama mainly by the chairman of the committee, former Prime Minister Thorbjoern Jagland…

VG said one of the newly elected members, Aagot Valle from the Socialist Left Party, had strong objections to giving the prize to Obama.

“I had expected a debate, especially around the issues I find problematic, the war in Afghanistan,” Valle told daily Bergens Tidende earlier this week.

Inger-Marie Ytterhorn, a former member of parliament for the opposition right-wing Progress Party, believed it was too early for Obama to win the prize, according to the paper.

Kaci Kullman Five, the Conservative Party’s leader from 1991-94, also voiced opinions against the decision, VG said.