Video: College Football—Are The Referees “Blowing It” During Bowl Season?
posted at 4:23 pm on December 31, 2010 by Rovin
As the bowl games proceed through this New Year’s weekend, college football fanatics will certainly want to know what the outcomes will be now that the referees have “injected their will” into certain games. If yesterday’s Pinstripe Bowl in Yankee Stadium gives us any indication of what players, coaches, and fans can expect, disappointments like the game between Syracuse and K-State may be on the menu. Businessinsider.com produced a fair analysis of what transpired:
“Unsatisfied with what was shaping up to be the best Bowl game of the season, the referees took matters into their own hand and called a ridiculous excessive celebration penalty against Kansas State to seal Syracuse’s 36-34 victory.
With a little more than a minute remaining in the back-and-forth contest, Kansas State had the ball at the Syracuse 30-yard-line, trailing 36-28. Quarterback Carson Coffman hit Adrian Hillborn on a short pass, Hillborn broke a tackle, took it to the house, and saluted the crowd.”
This 26 second video gives you the idea of what’s considered “excessive celebration”:
Because a 15 yard penalty was tacked onto the two-point conversion attempt that K-State had to make to tie the game, this unsportsmanlike conduct pushed the play back to the 17 yard line instead of two yards from the goal line. In an SI/AP story, Todd Geerlings of the Big Ten justified his crew’s decision:
“Big Ten referee Todd Geerlings said both the head linesman and the back judge threw flags for excessive celebration – rule 9-1-1d – because Hilburn was drawing attention to himself.
“These kinds of excessive celebrations have been a priority in the rulebook for the last several years,” Geerlings told a pool reporter. “There’s a whole page in the rulebook pertaining to sportsmanship.” …………”
Should college football fans ask Mr. Geerlings if there’s a page in the rulebook that explains the word “consistency”? Or did Geerlings miss this little celebration in the same game?
No penalty was called for this celebration.
Exit Questions: 1) Some one asked in a comments thread yesterday how the refs would handle a player saluting if he just scored a TD for Army, Navy, or the Air Force? 2) How do the refs plan on making these “questionable calls” at the end of a Rose Bowl or the National Championship game?
Recently in the Green Room:
- Real question: Does Obama’s budget fund overseas abortions to protect endangered animals?
- Photo of the day: Crimea now belongs to Russia, at least on Russian propaganda TV
- Vatican: Pope Francis wasn’t talking about same-sex relationships; Update: “Civil unions” explained
- RNC ad: Crying infant greets Obama’s new debt-laden budget
- Update: Grayson dismisses ‘erratic’ wife after abuse allegation